Isitwalandwe/Seaparankwe Award


Isitwalandwe Award

Isitwalandwe/Seaparankwe is the highest honour awarded by the people of South Africa, through the African National Congress, to those who have made an outstanding contribution and sacrifice to the liberation struggle.

Isitwalandwe, literally translated, means "the one who wears the plumes of the rare bird" and was traditionally bestowed only on the bravest warriors of the people, on those who distinguished themselves in the eyes of all the people for exceptional qualities of leadership and heroism.

Chief Albert Luthuli, Dr Yusuf Dadoo and Father Trevor Huddleston were the first to be proclaimed Isitwalandwe/Seaparankwe. This was at the Congress of the People in 1955. Since then many outstanding leaders have been honoured.

Albert Luthuli1955
Father Trevor Huddleston1955
Yusuf Dadoo1955
Moses Mauane Kotane1975
Govan Mbeki1980
Bishop Ambrose Reeves1980
Lilian Ngoyi1982
Ahmed Kathrada1988
Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela1992
Walter Sisulu1992
Helen Joseph1992
Oliver Reginald Tambo1992
Harry Gwala1992
Elias Motsoaledi1992
Andrew Mlangeni1992
Raymond Mhlaba1992
Wilton Mkwayi1992
Joe Slovo1994
Ray Alexander Simons 2004
Chris Hani2008

Winnie Madikizela-Mandela

Ahmed Timol2019
Albertina Sisulu2019
Charlotte Maxeke2019
John Nkadimeng2019
Sophie de Bruyn2019
Denis Goldberg2019


Last updated : 24-Apr-2019

This article was produced by South African History Online on 30-Mar-2011

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.