South Africa Cabinet Members 2009 to 2010

Jacob Zuma is sworn in as president by then chief justice Pius Langa in 2009. (Reuters)

After the African National Congress victory, Jacob Zuma was elected the President of South Africa and announced his first Cabinet on 10 May 2009. The cabinet was later reshuffled on the  On 31 October 2010. 



President of South Africa

Jacob Zuma

Deputy President of South Africa

Kgalema Motlanthe

Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Tina Joemat-Peterson

Arts and Culture

Lulu Xingwana

Basic Education

Angie Motshekga


Siphiwe Nyanda

Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Sicelo Shiceka

Correctional Services

Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula

Defence and Military Veterans

Lindiwe Sisulu

Economic Development

Ebrahim Patel


Dipuo Peters


Pravin Gordhan


Aaron Motsoaledi

Higher Education and Training

Blade Nzimande

Home Affairs

Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

Human Settlements

Tokyo Sexwale

International Relations and Cooperation

Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Justice and Constitutional Development

Jeff Radebe


Membathisi Mdladlana


Susan Shabangu


Nathi Mthethwa

Public Enterprises

Barbara Hogan

Public Service and Administration

Richard Baloyi

Public Works

Geoff Doidge

Rural Development and Land Reform

Gugile Nkwinti

Science and Technology

Naledi Pandor

Social Development

Edna Molewa

Sport and Recreation

Makhenkesi Stofile

State Security

Siyabonga Cwele

Minister in the Presidency for the National Planning Commission

Trevor Manuel

Minister in the Presidency for Performance Monitoring and Evaluation as well as Administration in the Presidency

Collins Chabane


Marthinus van Schalkwyk

Trade and Industry

Rob Davies


S'bu Ndebele

Water and Environmental Affairs

Buyelwa Sonjica

Women, Youth, Children and People with Disabilities

Noluthando Mayende-Sibiya

• The Skillsportal,(2009). ‘Full list of ministers in Jacob Zuma's Cabinet’ from The Skillsportal, 10 May [online] Available at [Accessed 06 June 2014]

Last updated : 21-Sep-2016

This article was produced by South African History Online on 06-Jun-2014

Support South African History Online

Donate and Make African History Matter

South African History Online is a non profit organisation. We depend on public support to build our website into the most comprehensive educational resource and encyclopaedia on African history.

Your support will help us to build and maintain partnerships with educational institutions in order to strengthen teaching, research and free access to our content.